About Mayo

Mayo is Australia’s happiest electorate! Located to the south and east of Adelaide, Mayo takes in Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu Peninsula and Kangaroo Island.

The area is known for its orchards, vineyards and farmland, with other major industries including tourism, hospitality and copper mining. The electorate of Mayo was established 1984 and named after Helen Mayo, a social activist and the first woman elected to an Australian University Council. It was held by the Liberal Party until the election of Rebekha Sharkie in 2016.

The major towns in the 9,135 km² area include Aldgate, Aldinga, Bridgewater, Birdwood, Coromandel Valley, Crafers, Echunga, Goolwa, Gumeracha, Hahndorf, Kingscote, Langhorne Creek, Lobethal, Macclesfield, McLaren Vale, Mount Barker, Myponga, Nairne, Oakbank, Port Elliot Port Willunga, Sellicks Beach, Stirling, Strathalbyn, Victor Harbor, Woodside, Yankalilla, and more besides!

Click here for a map of the electorate.

Rebekha Sharkie
Get in touch with Rebekha
Choose your preference
Share on Twitter Share on Facebook